Skip to content

At least they’re encouraging rejections…

July 6, 2011

Rejection number four on my short stories that have been sent to magazines. I’m particularly bummed about one of them (I was familiar with the editor’s writing and was really hopeful she’d like mine), but two of my four rejections have been really encouraging. And this last one, for Something Wicked, the editor wrote me a personal response saying that my story was “exquisite” and “fantastic” and how “it pains me to reject this story”, among other superlatives. I’m almost shaking with happiness and excitement.

He didn’t think it had enough horror elements, which I completely understand. I’m stymied about what to do with this story, “The Lighthouse”. It’s not enough about ghosts to land in a ghost or horror magazine, and too much about ghosts to land in a general fiction magazine, and I have yet to find a magazine that wants stories that skirt the edges of the paranormal. I’ll keep looking, though.

I’m thinking I might toss together a horror story just for this editor, to thank him for the best rejection letter ever.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

