Skip to content

Road to Publication, Step Two: Kindle

June 22, 2011

By the power vested in Amazon, I am now a published writer.

Prince of Kriti

In sun-kissed Kriti, called Keftiu, the Holy Island, Prince Horu is one year away from claiming his throne. His aunt, the Ice Queen Isabo who serves as Regent, has no intentions of letting that happen. Horu turns to his uncle Deinos, his greatest ally, but soon begins to suspect that Deinos has been playing a game, and Horu is only one of many pawns.

Unsure who to trust and torn between love and sexuality, Horu discovers that his relatives aren’t the only ones who are scheming to take the throne. Trapped in nets of politics and intrigue, it will take everything Horu has in order to survive.

The world and the publishing waters are changing, and e-publishing is quickly becoming the best option for writers. Kristine Kathryn Rusch’s post on this topic was a great motivation for me to try self-publishing for myself. I get to keep the vast majority of my profits, instead of just a little piece, and I get total control over what happens to my work.

To get started, I chose my completed novella, the Prince of Kriti. It’s just over 30,000 words, so it’s half the size of a typical novel, set in the world called Keftiu which I’ve been building for years. I wrote this as a prequel to the main chronology in my head (which soon, hopefully, will find its way into books), and the beginning of Prince Horu’s story. One of the thing that pleases me about the book is that it explores bisexuality right along with the fantasy politics and intrigue. I don’t think there are enough fantasy books in the world with GLBT &c themes, and it’s one of my goals in life to help fix that.

The book’s only $.99 on Amazon, and don’t worry, you don’t need a kindle to read it. So what are you waiting for? Go check it out!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

