Skip to content

The Road to Publication, Step One

June 18, 2011

Hello world!

My name is Genevieve, and I am a writer. My work is predominantly fantasy, with a strong base in fairy tales and a dark feminist slant.

I’ve built up a back log of short stories, but I’d always left them on the back burner while I worked on writing the epic fantasy series I aspire to. But now I’m looking to get those stories published, and writing more short stories in the meantime. I want to get my name out there and start taking steps toward being a paid, published writer. Scared, nervous and excited, check.

Duotrope’s Digest was recommended to me, and I have to say, it was the last piece that fell into place and made me realize that I can do this. I highly recommend it to any other fledgling writers. It allows you to search writing markets and publications by all the criteria you can think of, and makes it super easy to track your submissions.

The first place I submitted (and I got started yesterday, so it’s the only place so far!) was Fantasy Magazine. Dreaming big, I know. If they reject me, I should know by Monday, but if they seriously consider me it could be up to two weeks. I barely dare to dream that they’ll accept me, but I hope they’ll at least consider me. That’d be almost as good. On Monday I’ll be watching my inbox, praying it stays empty for a few more days.

The story I sent them was a piece called Not Alice, based on old changeling legends. I think it’s one of my best. Hopefully they’ll think so, too.

I’m off to write and research and submit. I’ll keep you posted on how it goes.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

